I. I Said That I Would Never Start a Blog

As the title suggests, months ago when I first learned that I would be studying abroad, I told myself that I would never create one of these things because “everyone creates a blog when they study abroad.” But…here I am sitting on my couch, writing this blog post on a break from practice packing (3 suitcases+ 1 backpack+ 1 duffle+4.5 hours= going out to possibly buy a new suitcase). I don’t know what it was, but somehow I convinced myself that I needed to create one or else I’d die… (Ok that’s not completely true; I added it for dramatic effect).

So I started a blog, now what? Well my first setback was to think of a catchy name. I wanted something that would be personal but not too tacky. I studied many travel blogs, noting their domain names and titles. I even tried my hand at multiple name generators. Let’s just say that I wasn’t as successful as Donald Glover. Maybe it was because while he used a Wu-Tang name generator, I used a travel blog name generator… But hey look! [Aud] Adventures! A nice little play on word title. For those of you who don’t know, my childhood nickname was and still is Aud. Aud…odd…get it?!?!?!

Anyways, as you might have guessed, this blog will document my thoughts, feelings, and random blabbering about my study abroad experience in the land down under! I have so much going through my mind right now:

  1. I LEAVE FOR AUSTRALIA IN 3 DAYS!!!!
  2. I haven’t even finished my packing list
  3. How am I going to fit 4 months worth of clothes and items into my suitcase? What’s the best possible way for me to handle all of my luggage?
    1. One ginormous suitcase with a smaller suitcase and carry-ons?
    2. Two medium sized suitcases and a carry-on?
  4. What is the shower etiquette like?
    1. Do I bring my shower caddy in the shower with me, or leave it outside the stall?
    2. How far away is my dorm room to the bathroom?
    3. Do they call it “bathroom”? (I just looked it up, it’s called the toilet/dunny/loo)

As you can see the most important questions are running through my head….

I will be updating this blog as freely as I want (or as my studying/exploring lets me) and hope you enjoy my experience through these virtual documents!

Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! Oi! Oi! Oi!

 

*I want to applaud all who put up with my jumbled thoughts and actually read this whole post! You’ll be receiving a koala bear from me when I get back. Just kidding! But this does show that people are actually reading my stuff and are interested in my adventures!

Leave a Reply

